What I Learned from the Special Olympics

By Abby Giles

Each year, Georgia Southwestern holds the Special Olympics. Students with disabilities come together from all over for this annual event. This year, I was lucky enough to be able to go with Ms. Chittick’s class through the Best Buddies Club and help support her students. It was honestly one of the best things I have ever experienced. I will definitely not forget this opportunity I was given.

When we got to the college, the atmosphere was very welcoming. As soon as we stepped off the bus, there was a line of people leading into the gymnasium giving high fives and cheering on the students. Everyone was all smiles when we went into the gym. There were a lot of events for students to do. Although there was a lot of waiting, it was extremely fun. I got to talk to different kids and help them with activities. I was supposed to be helping kids out, but I’m pretty sure I learned way more from them than they could ever learn from me.

I learned that although someone’s appearance may differ from the average person’s appearance, they are no less capable than others. I learned that even though someone may have a learning disability, they could be the smartest person you could ever meet. I learned that no matter what you are going through, these kids can cheer you up in an instant. I learned that these kids are some of the most intelligent, creative, and outstanding people I know. I learned that judging a book by its cover will get you nowhere. Most importantly, I learned that differences bring out the best in people. There is always more than meets the eye. If you ever get a chance to attend the Special Olympics, definitely go. It will be a life changing experience. It was for me.

Leave a Reply

