A Pro-Valentine’s Day Article Written by an Optimistic

Written By Raine Phillips

With all the stress of bad days, a new year, and the weight of a high school semester’s halfway point, I would say I’m pretty thankful for Valentine’s day. It’s awfully reassuring to know that there is a positive holiday in February that involves candy, oversized teddy bears, and of course, the overwhelming sense of love and tranquility from family and peers.

Every February the 14th, better known as Valentine’s Day, gifts are exchanged between loved ones across the globe. What is there to hate?

Some people react negatively to this holiday, labeling it foolish for people to be overly affectionate. But the up-side is, showing your appreciation for someone doesn’t have to be all about couples. Friends and family can partake in the celebration, too.

I can’t speak for everyone, but I feel exceptionally appreciated when I receive a gift on this particular holiday, even when it’s from close family. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve woken up every day to chocolate and a few small gifts. Not once were these items from a secret lover or a boyfriend, but from my mother, who cares enough to buy me movies and fattening sugar candies.

I mean, with lack of money, a car, or determination, how else would a girl like me obtain type two diabetes?

Leave a Reply

