A Letter to Trump.

Dear, Mr. Trump (POTUS),

I am a fourteen year old girl who is scared of my future and what’s to come of it for the next four years. Why would I think that? Because I am uncertain and it pains me to say that I don’t trust my new president. My reasons-in my opinion-are credible. I live in a small town in South Georgia where majority of my peers are uninformed and ignorant ‘republicans’ who, I say this with respect, only follow on their parent’s beliefs and not their own and rarely look at both sides of the politics they think they know. So one would say there is not much breathing room for me to speak without any backlash. But I don’t let it stop me because fortunately unlike many underprivileged and dispossessed countries, the United States of America allows freedom of speech. I wonder if that is something you are aware of.. or freedom of press, religion, assembly or petition. If you don’t know, \those are our rights given to us as a part of the first amendment in the US Constitution which was supposed to be our saving grace with few flaws, and it was really, right up to January 20, 2017.

Mr. Trump, I may be young but I am aware of my surroundings and what is going on in the world as any other should be. Please, I beg of you to open your eyes and walk a mile in someone else’s shoes. You are the president of a country now. It is a privilege. You not only have to walk in garish shoes but you have to RUN in America’s. Be disposed to this and know that the refugees you’re trying to rid this country of have been running a great deal longer than you have or ever will because of course you only have four years. They have gone through so much to find a safe haven you’re now trying to take away from them.

I am worried for myself and many others in our GREAT country. Not because of “radical-Islamic terrorists” but because of the president behind it. I am a small portion of a huge community uncertain of their forthcoming years. That being said we are prepared for the lowest and will be watching every step our government makes for the next four years. Be smart about the decisions you make because there are people out there waiting to jump at them. DO NOT think of yourself any more but your people, including foreigners because they will never not live here whether you like it or not. Respect everyone. The United States of America is not a business but is a family where everyone is loved.

Good luck,

Hayleigh Clark

 

Leave a Reply

